Old Time RadioAudiobookseBooks
eMailPreservation LibraryBargain Basement

Receive our newsletter!

CallFree Old Time Radio download
(Your shopping cart is empty)


Secret Agent "X" Audiobook #20 Ringmaster of Doom - 5 hours [Download] #RA538D
Secret Agent "X" Audiobook #20 Ringmaster of Doom

5 hours - Digital Download

Our Price: $9.99

Availability: Available for download now
Product Code: RA538D

Secret Agent "X" #20 Audiobook
Ringmaster of Doom
by G. T. Fleming-Roberts writing as Brant House
Read by Milton Bagby
Operating out of the supposedly haunted Montgomery Mansion, Secret Agent “X” ventures forth in a bewildering array of false identities to infiltrate the darkest underbellies of the Underworld—and destroy it from within. The only clue to his true identity is his haunting whistle….
They were born at the beginning of time...and should have died at the dawn of civilization. If they plundered and ravaged a 20th Century metropolis. Neanderthal men they were...and their bones should have been dust through countless ages. However, they lived and served the inexorable Thoth––Lord of the Dead. It was Secret Agent “X”, lone-wolf man-hunter, who pitted himself against the bestial ruthlessness of the long-dead past.
The enigma of enigmas, Secret Agent “X” has been deputized by a high government official to battle the darkest, most diabolical enemies of America before they sink their poisonous fangs into the nation’s healthy core. Faceless and unsung, “X” infiltrates these threats in a bewildering array of disguises.
It is true that Secret Agent “X” bears strong similarities to other Pulp heroes, such as The Shadow, the Spider, even Doc Savage in some regards. What sets “X” apart, however, is simply how central mystery is to each story. In many of the stories, he and his companions are on a desperate hunt to uncover the identity of a maniac set on the destruction of humanity. But even more than that, the real mystery in each tale is who “X” really is and why he continues to fight so desperately against evil in the world. That central theme kept readers returning for new stories every single issue.
Although Paul Chadwick created Secret Agent “X”, G. T. Fleming-Roberts contributed the most stories to the character’s canon, numbering at least twenty.
Follow the Man of a Thousand Faces as he confronts the menace of Ringmaster of Doom, ripped from the pages of Secret Agent “X” magazine, November 1935 and read with chilling intensity by Milton Bagby.
Chapter 1: Man From the Past
Chapter 2: Meet the Monster
Chapter 3: Seal of Thoth
Chapter 4: Slave Number Fourteen
Chapter 5: Lord of the Damned
Chapter 6: A Strange Alias
Chapter 7: Way of the Spy
Chapter 8: Disease of the Damned
Chapter 9: Mrs. Secret Agent “X”
Chapter 10: Palace of Pain
Chapter 11: The Electric Lash
Chapter 12: “Thoth Lives On”
Chapter 13: “You Are Thoth!”

Milton Bagby is a veteran radio announcer and voiceover specialist who first turned to audiobooks in 2010. Since then, Milton has worked on close to two hundred audiobook projects and is a 2017 Audie Awards winner, the audiobook industry's highest award. Drawing upon years of stage acting and the occasional bit part in films, Milton uses his experience to create characters that stand out in the ear of the listener.

“I am very much aware that a perfect stranger is going to invest many hours listening to me tell a story. I do my best to give the listener an experience in which the characters in that story come alive and sound real.”

When not behind a microphone, Milton is a writer. In addition to the well-received Rick Burkhart crime novels, Milton writes a line of 1950s style pulp stories, and is the author of dozens of magazine articles and two non-fiction books. Milton and his wife live in Nashville.

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

 About Us
 Privacy Policy
 Send Us Feedback