Old Time RadioAudiobookseBooksPulp Fiction BooksBargain Basement
Newsletter
eMail
Testimonials



Receive our newsletter!


Free eBook download
(Your shopping cart is empty)
Return to Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors, Volume 1 - 10 hours [Audio CDs] #RA070
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great music cds May 3, 2020
Reviewer: Cheryl Farnell from Tampa, FL United States  
I'm a big Gus Arnheim fan, so I was very excited to hear these radio shows.  The cds are great; I'm listening to one or two shows every day.  Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors, Volume 1 July 22, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
Outstanding collection, and incredible audio quality.  Thank you!  Wish there were a booklet or liner notes about the broadcasts and groups with the set, but the information on the site is terrific!


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 May 24, 2019
Reviewer: Charles Degges from Manassas, VA United States  
I like this collection very much, it reflects my era of interest.  I bought this to replace your PC 70 series that was damaged.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The World Famous Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles May 24, 2015
Reviewer: Richard McLeod from RIVERSIDE, CA United States  
I had purchased the Volume I of music from the Orchestras and singers at the Cocoanut Grove several years back from Radio Archives.
In fact, it was actually when the demolition work had already started on the Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles.  The famous Brown Derby across the street had already been torn down several years earlier.
I was in the area on business and parked my car on the western side of the large Hotel Complex.  I had the CD's with me at the time, and just sat there and played them in my car as I looked at the remaining structures still to be demolished and the workmen that were actually on site.
I suppose it was my personal way to say "Good-bye" to this Grand Hotel of Hollywood and World History.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Thanks for the memory's January 28, 2011
Reviewer: Ty of Kokomo from IN United States  
You took me back in time what a collection a must for big band and Orchestra lover's can't wait for volume 2, thanks for the memory's

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I Love This Music September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Blaise Pierovich  
Oh, this music is so good - I love this music! The glorious 30's - if only I could have been there to experience it firsthand!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Hard to Believe September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Bob Blume  
My previous order arrived today on Monday. I ordered on Saturday. That's a two day delivery time, which might be a new standard for speedy service. I'm listening to the first Gun Arnheim disc now from the Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors Premier Collection. Hard to believe these are from the early 30's. The sound quality is unbelievable.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Granddaughter of Abe Frank September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Carlyn Frank Benjamin  
I am the granddaughter of Abe Frank, who managed the Ambassador Hotel in the time of the big bands. As a child growing up in the hotel, I knew personally many of the artists mentioned on the CD. I can't wait to play all the music that I remember listening to at the Grove, from the time I was too young to be there in the evening but would slip into the room during the afternoon after school during rehearsals; even later, when I was old enough to date, going dancing at the Grove - even if it meant only walking across the lawn from our bungalow - was so special. Gus, Ted, Phil, and all the others who came along to grace the bandstand - Hal Kemp, Eddy Duchin, Guy Lombardo, Shep Fields, Ozzie Nelson, to name a few - played that great dance music with lyrics I still remember decades later. I am going to put the Arnheim CD on for our dinner music and expect to be up late tonight for a nostalgic evening. A great way to spend a night of what is expected to be a heavy rain and thunderstorm.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I Loved Hearing Gus Arheim Again September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Joe Mittleman  
I didn't think you could create better albums than "The Best of the Big Bands" CD sets, but you have: "The Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors" is great. I loved hearing Gus Arheim again. Maybe it's because I love the music of the '30s, but I don't make excuses for it. I do. Congratulations. I hope you keep producing more of this kind of music.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 The Sound Quality is Indeed Fantastic September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Joel Stern  
I got your package containing "The Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors". Thanks for the prompt shipment. The sound quality of the CDs is indeed fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items
RadioArchives.com

 About Us
 Privacy Policy
 Send Us Feedback