Old Time RadioAudiobookseBooksPulp Fiction BooksBargain Basement

Receive our newsletter!

CallFree audiobook download
(Your shopping cart is empty)


Inspector Allhoff Audiobook - I'll Be Glad When You're Dead - 5 hours [Download] #RA494D
Inspector Allhoff Audiobook - I'll Be Glad When You're Dead
Alternative Views:

5 hours - Digital Download

Our Price: $9.99

Availability: Available for download now
Product Code: RA494D

Inspector Allhoff Audiobook
I'll Be Glad When You're Dead
by D. L. Champion
Read by Milton Bagby
Do you like Nero Wolfe? Then Inspector Allholf is your man!
Brilliant, decisive, and hard-charging, Deputy Inspector Allhoff was the NYPD’s ace detective until bullets from a mobster’s machine gun robbed him of his legs, his career, and—in the opinion of an associate—his sanity. Yet Allhoff was too good a man to be put out to pasture, so New York’s police commissioner found a way to keep him employed and refer to him such cases as the department couldn’t or wouldn’t handle. Confined to a wheelchair and operating from a seedy tenement flat, Allhoff is assisted by two cops: Battersly, the rookie patrolman whose brief moment of cowardice cost the inspector his legs, and Simmonds, the bitter career cop who detests Allhoff but sticks with the embittered cripple to protect his own pension.
Created by D.L. Champion, Inspector Allhoff denied most conventions of detective-pulp fiction. He could never be confused for one of Raymond Chandler’s knights errant, trudging down those mean streets. Allhoff was no Rover Boy in trench coat and fedora. He was, in fact, a sadist and a psychopath. With 30 entries published between 1938 and 1946, the Allhoff series was among the most popular and long-lived to appear in Dime Detective, the prestigious crime pulp second only to the legendary Black Mask in its impact on the genre.
This arresting audiobook features the first five grim and grisly Allhoff cases, ranging from the bizarre “Footprints on a Brain” to the mordant “Dead and Dumb.” Read with real relish by Milton Bagby.
Footprints on a Brain
Chapter 1: Three Men and a Half
Chapter 2: End of a Chapter
Chapter 3: Allhoff sets the Stage
Chapter 4: A Bird Told Me
Chapter 5: Without A Leg to Stand on

I’ll Be Glad When You’re Dead
Chapter 1: Murder for Breakfast
Chapter 2: Coffee for a Copper
Chapter 3: We Compound a Felony
Chapter 4: Allhoff Can’t Prove a Thing
Chapter 5: Dance, Little Copper!

Lock the Death House Door!
Chapter 1: Battersly Takes Steps
Chapter 2: The Man Who Wanted to Burn
Chapter 3: Crazy Like a Fox
Chapter 4: Ruthless—But No Louse

Cover the Corpse’s Eyes
Chapter 1: A Policeman’s Lot—
Chapter 2: Eight Times a Killer
Chapter 3: Allhoff Plays Uncle
Chapter 4: Allhoff Knew It All the Time
Chapter 5: The Commissioner Congratulates

Dead and Dumb
Chapter 1: Sweetness and Light—And Sudden Death
Chapter 2: Dead and Dumb
Chapter 3: Coffee, Vinegar and Honey
Chapter 4: A Matter of Red and Yellow
Chapter 5: Allhoff Plays the Dummy

Milton Bagby is a veteran radio announcer and voiceover specialist who first turned to audiobooks in 2010. Since then, Milton has worked on over two dozen audiobook projects as a narrator or producer. Drawing upon years of stage acting and the occasional bit part in films, Milton uses his experience to create characters that stand out in the ear of the listener.

“I am very much aware that a perfect stranger is going to invest eight or ten hours listening to me tell a story. I do my best to give the listener an experience in which the characters in that story come alive and sound real.”

When not behind a microphone, Milton is a writer.  In addition to the well-received Rick Burkhart crime novels, Milton writes a line of 1950s style pulp stories, and is the author of dozens of magazine articles and two non-fiction books.  Milton and his wife live in Nashville.

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

 About Us
 Privacy Policy
 Send Us Feedback