Old Time RadioAudiobookseBooksPulp Fiction Books
Newsletter
eMail
Call
(Your shopping cart is empty)
Return to Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors, Volume 2 - 10 hours [Audio CDs] #RA075
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Another great set and O-SO-CLEAR January 31, 2011
Reviewer: Ty of Kokomo from United States  
A must for music lover's and a great part of or history thanks for the memory.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Fidelity of These Shows is Really Impressive September 18, 2009
Reviewer: David Oppenheim  
I purchased "The Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors, Volume 2" awhile back. I have thoroughly enjoyed my "visits" to the Grove through these wonderful shows of 1933-34. An added bonus of these shows is hearing many songs that I have on special High Fidelity Reproducing Piano rolls for my 1930 player grand piano, performed by vocalists live on these shows when the songs were first introduced to the public. The singers' vocalizing really makes me feel part of that era. The fidelity of these shows is really impressive. Great Job!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Stuff, Incredible Transfers September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Ed Wolk  
My Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors arrived today...what speedy service! I've listened to three discs so far...great stuff...incredible transfers (and I work in radio)....big smile on my face and ears!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
How Much I'm Enjoying September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Jeff Lewin  
I just wanted to tell you how much I'm enjoying the Cocoanut Grove CDs I purchased from you a few weeks ago.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
I Like It Even Better Than Volume 1 September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Joe Mittleman  
I loved last year's Coconut Grove Ambassadors CDs. I'm listening to volume 2 and just wanted to tell you that I like it even better than Vol. 1. I hope that you will do a Vol. 3. The music of the thirties was always the best.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
I Could Hardly Wait for the Second September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Larry Thomas  
After purchasing my first Cocoanut Grove set I could hardly wait for the second. So far, it's been my favorite (next to Fu Manchu). The quality of the first set was great, and up to your usual high standards. I'm looking forward to it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
My Hat is Off to You September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Richard Davis McLeod  
Thanks for the quick shipment of the Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors Volume 2. I am listening to Volume 1 right now as I write this to you. You are certainly to be praised for the wonderful work you do in the arena of radio preservation! My hat is off to you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Breathtaking Audio Quality September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Richard Hawkey from United Kingdom  
I wanted to let you know how pleased I was with the three collections I recently ordered: "Box 13" (excellent set - I just hope youíre going to release some more of this brilliant series in the future), "The Cinnamon Bear" (wonderful audio quality from this great series - my children really enjoyed this one) and, saving the best until last, "The Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors". Breathtaking audio quality and a unique glimpse into the sounds of this world famous club from its heyday! I've only had this set for a few weeks but have already spent several hours beneath those swaying palms. I've had my 1937 Victor Radiogram fitted with a line in connection and I can't tell you how great this series of CD's sounds when played through it. I really hope there will be some more of these programmes released. Kind regards from a very pleased and grateful customer. Keep up the good work!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
It's the Quality That Brings Me Back September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Tony Baechler  
I don't normally comment on your CD sets unless there is something special or unique. Usually the quality is excellent and I guess it doesn't seem worth sending email every month restating the obvious, namely that almost all your releases are great and all are of outstanding quality. It's the quality that brings me back, even though I sometimes already have the shows you're offering. I had been wanting to listen to musical shows for some time but hadn't really found anything of interest to me. I bought your first Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors set but didn't start listening to it and it ended up being set aside. (Too many shows, not enough time). Anyway, I thought I would give Volume 2 a try. I was really impressed, more than usual. Almost all of your releases are great but that was truly special. I can recommend it to anyone who likes early 1930's musical programs. Music is especially hard to restore because of the higher frequencies, but one can easily hear all the fidelity in these programs. I felt like I was really there at the Cocoanut Grove and went back in time to about 1932 or so. Too bad they are only 15 minutes as I could easily spend more time listening. Fortunately there is a full hour on each CD! One can tell by listening that a lot of work went into doing a perfect job restoring these. A great effort went into bringing out the sounds of the instruments while carefully removing the surface noise. Even with the modern miracles of restoration, this still sounds better than usual. I can recommend the other big band sets, but these are definitely some of the best overall that I've ever heard. Thanks for releasing these and really doing an amazing restoration job with them! I'm glad that Radio Archives is not afraid to release big band and musical programs like most dealers are.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
 
RadioArchives.com

 About Us
 Privacy Policy
 Send Us Feedback