Old Time RadioAudiobookseBooksPulp Fiction Books
Newsletter
eMail
Call

(Your shopping cart is empty)
Return to Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors, Volume 1 - 10 hours [Audio CDs] #RA070
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Thanks for the memory's January 28, 2011
Reviewer: Ty of Kokomo from IN United States  
You took me back in time what a collection a must for big band and Orchestra lover's can't wait for volume 2, thanks for the memory's

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
I Love This Music September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Blaise Pierovich  
Oh, this music is so good - I love this music! The glorious 30's - if only I could have been there to experience it firsthand!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Hard to Believe September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Bob Blume  
My previous order arrived today on Monday. I ordered on Saturday. That's a two day delivery time, which might be a new standard for speedy service. I'm listening to the first Gun Arnheim disc now from the Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors Premier Collection. Hard to believe these are from the early 30's. The sound quality is unbelievable.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Granddaughter of Abe Frank September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Carlyn Frank Benjamin  
I am the granddaughter of Abe Frank, who managed the Ambassador Hotel in the time of the big bands. As a child growing up in the hotel, I knew personally many of the artists mentioned on the CD. I can't wait to play all the music that I remember listening to at the Grove, from the time I was too young to be there in the evening but would slip into the room during the afternoon after school during rehearsals; even later, when I was old enough to date, going dancing at the Grove - even if it meant only walking across the lawn from our bungalow - was so special. Gus, Ted, Phil, and all the others who came along to grace the bandstand - Hal Kemp, Eddy Duchin, Guy Lombardo, Shep Fields, Ozzie Nelson, to name a few - played that great dance music with lyrics I still remember decades later. I am going to put the Arnheim CD on for our dinner music and expect to be up late tonight for a nostalgic evening. A great way to spend a night of what is expected to be a heavy rain and thunderstorm.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
I Loved Hearing Gus Arheim Again September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Joe Mittleman  
I didn't think you could create better albums than "The Best of the Big Bands" CD sets, but you have: "The Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors" is great. I loved hearing Gus Arheim again. Maybe it's because I love the music of the '30s, but I don't make excuses for it. I do. Congratulations. I hope you keep producing more of this kind of music.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Sound Quality is Indeed Fantastic September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Joel Stern  
I got your package containing "The Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors". Thanks for the prompt shipment. The sound quality of the CDs is indeed fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Absolutely Loved It September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Karl Pearson  
I ordered the first set of The Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors and absolutely loved it. I'm going to order Volume 2 right now!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
What a Treat September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Larry Thomas  
I just have to let you know how thankful I am for what you do. The superb quality of the shows you provide (I have "Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors" playing as I type) has given me such pleasure. I don't know how many sets I've bought, but I've been able to share them with my grandchildren (all 9 of them in Shelby, Michigan), who look forward to the sets I've been able to send. "Little Orphan Annie", "Frank Merriwell", and "Father Knows Best" have all gone their way. What a treat. Hang in there -- I'm on your side!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
I'm Speechless September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Sammy Jones  
I just got the Cocoanut Grove Ambassadors volume 1 set. Only on the first show and I'm speechless. "Sweet and Lovely," "I Found a Million Dollar Baby," "Can't you Hear me Callin', Caroline?," "St. Louis Blues"...the music couldn't be better if I'd programmed it myself! I can't tell you how wonderful this release is; please keep these coming!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WOW!!!! I Am Very Impressed September 18, 2009
Reviewer: Wally Stall  
WOW!!!! I am very impressed and I never tell this to people at all. But the "Cocoanut Grove" broadcasts are just wonderful and this is a great set. It is wonderful to see that you are wanting to do broadcasts such as this. I am very excited to see and hear this. Again I thank you so much for the shows that you are doing. Your company has really taken the lead in preserving Old time Radio.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
 
RadioArchives.com

 About Us
 Privacy Policy
 Send Us Feedback