Old Time RadioAudiobookseBooksPulp Fiction Books
Newsletter
eMail
Call
(Your shopping cart is empty)

 

  Fibber McGee and Molly Show, The 1947/1948 Season - 18 hours [Audio CDs] #RA278
The Fibber McGee and Molly Show, The 1947/1948 Season


 
Alternative Views:


18 hours - Audio CD Set


Our Price: $53.98

Availability: Usually Ships in 24 Hours
Product Code: RA278
Qty:

Description
 
The Fibber McGee and Molly Show
The 1947/1948 Season
 
 
Very rarely does a technical part of any program become almost as well known as the show itself. That happened, though, with one particular sound effect that can be heard on Fibber McGee and Molly. Well known still today for lovable, hilarious characters and witty, well written scripts, Fibber McGee and Molly is also fondly remembered because of the Hall Closet. Fibber would find himself in need of something that he had misplaced or stored away. Deciding it was in a closet, Fibber would open the door and be buried under a cascade of thumps, crashes, bangs, and dings. This cacophony was well planned, perched precariously on a constructed set of stairs. As the sound effects crew waited for the effect to actually be called for in the script, however, they were constantly afraid it would collapse before its time.
 
Just one aspect of the program that entered into the public consciousness, the Hall Closet did so and quickly. People of course talked about the gag so much so that it entered into common language. It’s not unheard of still today to hear someone say or have a writer refer to ‘McGee’s closet’ or ‘Opening Fibber’s door’ to mean getting more than you bargained for.
 
Enjoy an entire season restored to sparkling audio quality in The Fibber McGee & Molly Show, The 1947/1948 Season. Enjoy all the characters, repartee between Molly and Fibber, and yes, the closet that makes this show a standout still today!
 
Fibber McGee and Molly expert, Karl Pearson, is the Series Contributor for this set. Enjoy 18 hours, 35 shows of pure fun.
 
Football Game Anniversary
Tuesday, October 7, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Catching Teeny's Cat
Tuesday, October 14, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Late Car Payment
Tuesday, October 21, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Big Deal at the Farm
Tuesday, October 28, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
McGee Gets Weighed
Tuesday, November 4, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
War Surplus Store
Tuesday, November 11, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Telephone Call
Tuesday, November 18, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
McGee Paints the Kitchen
Tuesday, November 25, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Duck Hunting
Tuesday, December 2, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Gazette Interview
Tuesday, December 9, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Making a Fruit Cake
Tuesday, December 16, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Lost Keys
Tuesday, December 23, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
$10 Gift Certificate
Tuesday, December 30, 1947 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Magic Act
Tuesday, January 6, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Portable Radio
Tuesday, January 13, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Molly’s Pickles
Tuesday, January 20, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Missing Laundry
Tuesday, January 27, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
McGee Makes a Lamp
Tuesday, February 3, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Childhood Sled
Tuesday, February 10, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Money for Rare Books
Tuesday, February 17, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Radio to the Philippines
Tuesday, February 24, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Jury Duty
Tuesday, March 2, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Broken Card Table
Tuesday, March 9, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Spearhead Commercial
Tuesday, March 16, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Molly's Easter Dress
Tuesday, March 23, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
The Overnight Trip
Tuesday, March 30, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Fixing Doc's Car
Tuesday, April 6, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
New Fire Alarm Box
Tuesday, April 13, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
McGee Makes a Vase
Tuesday, April 20, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Passenger Pigeon Trap
Tuesday, April 27, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Selling the House
Tuesday, May 4, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Going Fishing
Tuesday, May 11, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Baseball Cologne
Tuesday, May 18, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Molly's Toothache
Tuesday, May 25, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax
 
Fibber's Tune
Tuesday, June 1, 1948 - 30:00 - NBC, sponsored by Johnson's Wax


Average Customer Review: 5 of 5 | Total Reviews: 2 Write a review

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Vast improvement! March 18, 2014
Reviewer: andy wood from west yorkshire, ENGLAND United Kingdom  
All I can say is I sincerely hope that your complete Fibber & Molly seasons will continue because each and every one are incredible improvements on anything previously available!! There are some really memorable shows in this season too!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Fibber McGee and Molly 1947/48 Season January 30, 2014
Reviewer: Kenneth Hallock from Tappan, NY United States  
Another great set from Radio Archives.Glad to hear these shows sounding so clear and fresh. Time to retire the old sets that others sell with too many shows crammed onto a disc with poor sound. Keep them coming and I'll keep buying. A very happy customer

Was this review helpful to you?

RadioArchives.com

 About Us
 Privacy Policy
 Send Us Feedback