Old Time RadioAudiobookseBooksPulp Fiction Books
Newsletter
eMail
Call

(Your shopping cart is empty)

 

  CBS Radio Workshop, Volume 5 - 10 hours [Audio CDs] #RA258
CBS Radio Workshop, Volume 5


 
Alternative Views:


10 hours - Audio CD Set


Our Price: $29.98

Availability: Usually Ships in 24 Hours
Product Code: RA258
Qty:

Description
 
CBS Radio Workshop
Volume 5

 

The CBS Radio Workshop debuted at the end of the Age of Classic Radio, which was a time of innovation and experimentation, especially in terms of radio drama. The ten-hour Volume 5 includes “Epitaphs”, from Edgar Lee Master’s Spoon River Anthology (a collection of short, free-form poems), which starred Jeanette Nolan and Richard Crenna; Norman Dello Joio’s “Meditations On Ecclesiastes”), which won the 1957 Pulitzer Prize for music, conducted on the program by Alfredo Antonini; James Thurber’s “You Could Look It Up”, about a three-foot tall adult brought into a baseball game to take a walk (inspiring the 1951 stunt by Bill Veeck); Robert Heinlein co-adapted his short story “The Green Hills of Earth”, about an old, blind space traveler who wants to die on the planet of his birth, Earth; Edgar Allan Poe’s “Never Bet the Devil Your Head”, a satirical attack on transcendentalism; an adaptation of E. M. Forster’s “The Celestial Omnibus”, from the collection of the same name; Richard Durham’s “Sweet Cherries In Charleston”, which tells the story of the aborted 1822 slave rebellion in Charleston, South Carolina; an adaptation of “Young Man Axelbrod” by Sinclair Lewis, a critic of American society (particularly capitalism) who is probably best remembered for It Can’t Happen Here, about the election of a Fascist as the American president, based on the populist Southern politician Huey Long.

 

The man behind CBS Radio Workshop, which debuted in 1956, was William Froug. Inspired directly by the work of Norman Corwin on the original Columbia Workshop, Froug put all the pieces together to produce a program that took the best of what had come before it and succeeded even further in production, performance and storytelling.

 

CBS Radio Workshop not only continued to push boundaries in terms of utilizing story, music, voice and more in exciting, modern ways, it broke new ground in radio drama. In short, the CBS Radio Workshop set the standard for modern audio drama.

 

Blending sound effects with story, music with voice, and quality with substance, the episodes on CBS Radio Workshop, Volume 5 shows how boundless storytelling can be with audio drama.

 
#67 The Long Way Home
Sunday, May 12, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#68 Heaven Is In the Sky
Sunday, May 19, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#69 I Have Three Heads
Sunday, May 26, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#70 Epitaphs - Spoon River Anthology
Sunday, June 2, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#71 The Seven Hills
Sunday, June 9, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#72 Housing Problems
Sunday, June 16, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#73 Meditations On Ecclesiastes
Sunday, June 23, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#74 Gettysburg
Sunday, June 30, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#75 You Could Look It Up
Sunday, July 7, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#76 The Silent Witness
Sunday, July 14, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#77 The Green Hills of Earth
Sunday, July 21, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#78 Never Bet the Devil Your Head
Sunday, July 28, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#79 The Heart of the Man
Sunday, August 4, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#80 Malihini Magic
Sunday, August 11, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#81 The Celestial Omnibus
Sunday, August 18, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#82 Sweet Cherries In Charleston
Sunday, August 25, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#83 Grief Drives A Black Sedan
Sunday, September 1, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#84 People Are No Good
Sunday, September 8, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#85 Time Found Again
Sunday, September 15, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS
 
#86 Young Man Axelbrod 
Sunday, September 22, 1957 - 30:00 - CBS

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review
RadioArchives.com

 About Us
 Privacy Policy
 Send Us Feedback